Sign into Android on a new device for the first time and Google will send you an email to verify that it’s really you. If you didn’t sign in on a new device, it could mean somebody else is accessing your account.
But there’s one little problem: Google finds that people don’t always pay much attention to email messages. So Google is going to start using native Android notifications to alert you when a new device is added to your account.
The alert will ask “Did you just sign in?” and include a link that lets you review your account activity. Google says users are four times more likely to click that review link in an Android notification than in an email.
Once you click, you should see a screen showing recently used devices with information about the newly added device. It should include information about the device and its location — so if you’re in New York and someone is accessing your account from Tokyo, there’s a pretty good chance something funky is going on… and you can click the “Yes, that was me,” or “No, secure account” options to take the next steps.
via Android Police