Google is testing a new feature for Chrome OS that lets you return to the previous version of the operating system after performing an update.

The new feature is live in the latest Dev Channel version of Chrome OS.

chrome os powerwash and revert

One of the cool things about Chrome OS is that updates are downloaded and installed automatically so your system is always up to date. But if you’re running the dev channel or beta channel you might get an update that’s not fully polished and it could keep you from using your Chromebook or Chromebox the way you want.

Now there’s an option to “Powerwash and Revert.”

This will wipe all your data, but it will also roll back Chrome OS to the previous version. Once the Powerwash is finished, just login with your username and password and Chrome will grab all of your apps and settings from the cloud anyway so the only data you’ll lose are any photos or other files hanging out in local storage.

Google’s François Beaufort explains that you can get to the new Powerwash and Revert option by choosing the Powerwash option from the Chrome OS Settings and then when the reset screen shows up, hold Ctrl+Shift+Alt+R for the revert option.

via Chrome Story

Support Liliputing

Liliputing's primary sources of revenue are advertising and affiliate links (if you click the "Shop" button at the top of the page and buy something on Amazon, for example, we'll get a small commission).

But there are several ways you can support the site directly even if you're using an ad blocker* and hate online shopping.

Contribute to our Patreon campaign

or...

Contribute via PayPal

* If you are using an ad blocker like uBlock Origin and seeing a pop-up message at the bottom of the screen, we have a guide that may help you disable it.

One reply on “Chrome OS lets you change your mind after OS upgrades”

  1. But will this disable auto-upgrade to the latest version? Seems kind of pointless if not.

Comments are closed.